CBGB 3.01 Знакомство с Баией

Пожалуйста, запишитесь на course, прежде чем начать этот урок.

Штат Баия расположен к северо-востоку от Минас-Жерайса и похож на Минас-Жерайс по площади. Он включает в себя огромный спектр биомов, начиная от мангровых болот и тропических лесов Атлантики вдоль восточного побережья Бразилии до высоких гор Чапада-Диамантина в центре штата и полузасушливых равнин на западе, известных как Sertão («внутренние районы»).

Пейзажи Баии (слева вверху): полузасушливые луга Sertão; прибрежные мангровые заросли; Chapada Diamantina.

Баия названа в честь Bahia de Todos os Santos (Залив Всех Святых), крупнейший на Атлантическом побережье Бразилии. Португальские колонисты прибыли в государство в начале шестнадцатого века, основав первую столицу португальской колонии, Сальвадор-де-Баия, в 1549 году.

Исторический центр Сальвадора, первая столица португальской колонии в Бразилии, а теперь Объект всемирного наследия ЮНЕСКО.

Вплоть до девятнадцатого века Баия была крупным центром выращивания сахарного тростника в Бразилии. За этот период португальцы отправили в государство более 1,3 миллиона порабощенных африканских рабочих (Колониальный фонд Вильямсбурга, 2021 г.). Эти рабочие внесли сильное африканское влияние на местную культуру и обычаи. Сегодня в экономике Баии преобладает промышленность, и штат также является важным сельскохозяйственным центром, являясь крупным производителем хлопка, какао, сои и тропических фруктов.

Кофе был важен для экономики Баии, по крайней мере, с девятнадцатого века (Британская энциклопедия 1875 г.), но он не стал крупным производителем в национальном масштабе до 1970-х годов (де Алмейда и Сперс 2019), а за прошедшие десятилетия возник ряд микрорегионов, специализирующихся на производстве кофе (Volsi et al 2019). 

Вернуться к: Путеводитель покупателя кофе по Бразилии > Баия, Эспириту-Санту и Парана

Вы успешно подписались!

CBGB 3.01 Introduction to Bahia

Please sign up for the course before starting the lesson.

The state of Bahia lies to the northeast of Minas Gerais, and it is similar to Minas Gerais in terms of land area. It encompasses a huge range of biomes, ranging from the mangrove swamps and Atlantic rainforest along Brazil’s eastern coast, to the high mountains of the Chapada Diamantina in the centre of the state, to the semi-arid flat lands in the west known as the sertão (‘hinterland’).

Landscapes of Bahia (from top left): the semi-arid grassland of the sertão; coastal mangroves; the Chapada Diamantina.

Bahia is named after the Bahia de Todos os Santos (Bay of All Saints), the largest on Brazil’s Atlantic coast. Portuguese colonists arrived in the state at the beginning of the sixteenth century, establishing the Portuguese colony’s first capital, Salvador de Bahia, in 1549.

The historic centre of Salvador, the first capital of the Portuguese colony in Brazil and now a UNESCO World Heritage Site.

Up until the nineteenth century, Bahia was a major centre for sugarcane cultivation in Brazil. The Portuguese shipped more than 1.3 million enslaved African workers into the state during this period (Colonial Williamsburg Foundation, 2021). These workers contributed strong African influences to the local culture and customs. Today, Bahia’s economy is dominated by industry, and the state is also an important agricultural centre, being a major producer of cotton, cocoa, soya, and tropical fruits.

Coffee has been important to Bahia’s economy since at least the nineteenth century (Encyclopedia Britannica 1875), but it did not become a major producer on a national scale until the 1970s (de Almeida and Spers 2019), and a number of microregions specialised in producing coffee have emerged in the decades since (Volsi et al 2019). 

The Brazilian Specialty Coffee Association (BSCA) divides Bahia into three main regions: Planalto Baiano in the centre of the state,

Back to: The Coffee Buyer’s Guide to Brazil > Bahia, Espírito Santo, and Paraná

You have Successfully Subscribed!