The Coffee Buyer’s Guide to Colombia

0 of 50 lessons complete (0%)

Growing Regions of Colombia

CBGC 1.01 Introduction

The Republic of Colombia is divided into 32 departments, and coffee is produced in 22 of them. Most of the country’s coffee is produced in the central portion of the country  —  a region known as the Eje Cafetero (Coffee Axis), which comprises the departments of Caldas, Quindío, Risaralda, and the northern parts of Tolima and Valle del Cauca. The coffee-growing areas of Guajira, Magdalena, and Cesar are considered as a single producing region called Sierra Nevada.

Coffee-growing regions of Colombia. Red zone: Eje Cafetero, purple zone: Sierra Nevada.


Colombia is unique among coffee-growing countries for having two main harvests.