Основы

LA 1.02 – Как взять себя в руки

Держит чашку за ручку

Многие технические конструкции латте-арта требуют постоянного изменения положения чашки. В этих случаях из соображений гигиены важно держать только нижнюю треть чашки. Если ваш репертуар шаблонов прост и не требует переориентации положения чашки, держите чашку за ручку - это самый быстрый способ доставить чашку к блюдцу. Держа чашку за дно, вам нужно сначала опустить руку кувшина, переложить чашку в другую руку, а затем поставить ее - процесс неэффективный.

 

Ось Север – Юг

По умолчанию ручки чашки и кувшина должны быть ориентированы под углом 90° друг к другу. Если вы сохраните это положение при создании базового симметричного узора, такого как сердце или тюльпан, вы сможете обслуживать своих клиентов, чтобы они могли видеть дизайн с правой стороны. Мастера латте видят большинство классических дизайнов перевернутыми, когда наливают их. Предполагая, что они подают напиток тому, у кого такая же доминирующая рука, когда напиток будет подан, он будет ориентирован ручкой чашки, указывающей на доминирующую руку клиента.

Когда мы будем обсуждать размещение шаблонов в следующих главах, обратите внимание: когда мы используем координаты NSEW, чтобы привлечь ваше внимание к определенным частям шаблона, мы используем точку зрения клиента (а не точку зрения бариста), чтобы определить, где север и юг. являются. Это означает, что для правши ручка будет на «востоке»; это будет на «западе» для левшей. Когда бариста наливает, ручка молочного кувшина должна указывать точно на север. Когда мы обсуждаем заливку, преобладающим направлением потока для симметричных конструкций будет «юг».

Чтобы усилить это, мы показали наши видеоролики крупным планом с точки зрения клиента. Юг находится внизу экрана, а бариста стоит на севере, вверху экрана.

LA 1.02 – Getting a Grip

Please sign up for the course before starting the lesson.

Holding the Cup by its Handle

Many technical latte art designs require continuous reorientation of the cup position. In these instances, holding only the bottom third of the cup is important for hygiene reasons. If your repertoire of patterns is simple and does not call for any reorientation of the cup position, hold the cup by the handle — this is the fastest route to delivering the cup to the saucer. When holding the bottom of the cup, you need to first put down your pitcher hand, transfer the cup into your other hand, and then put it down — an inefficient process.

 

The North–South Axis

By default, the handles of the cup and the pitcher should be oriented at 90° to each other. If you maintain this position while creating a basic symmetrical pattern such as a heart or a tulip, you’ll be able to serve your customers so they can view the design right side up. Latte artists see most classic designs upside-down as they pour them. Assuming they are serving the drink to someone who has the same dominant hand, when the drink is served, it will be orientated with the cup handle pointing towards the customer’s dominant hand.

As we discuss the positioning of patterns in the next chapters, please note: When we use the NSEW coordinates to draw your attention to certain parts of a pattern, we are using the customer’s perspective (not the barista’s perspective) to establish where north and south are. This means to the right-handed customer the handle will be in the ‘east’; it will be in the ‘west’ for the left-hander. When a barista is pouring, the milk pitcher handle should point due ‘north’. When we discuss pouring, the prevailing direction of flow for symmetrical designs will be towards the ‘south’.

To reinforce this, we have displayed our close-up videos from the customer’s perspective. South is at the bottom of the screen and the barista stands in the north, at the top of the screen.

Back to: Latte Art > The Basics

You have Successfully Subscribed!