المطحنة الرطبة

PC 2.03 - الطفو

This is a preview lesson
Register or sign in to take this lesson.

من أبرز سمات المعالجة الرطبة هي ضرورة إزالة القشر من الكرز (انظر الدرس التالي). ولا تستطيع جميع أنواع آلات إزالة القشر التعامل مع الكرز غير الناضج، فيما لا يمكن لأي منها التعامل مع الحجارة والمواد غير العضوية الأخرى. ولهذا، لا بد من إجراء عملية الفصل لضمان مرور كرز القهوة الناضج فقط إلى المرحلة التالية من المعالجة. وعلى الرغم من فصل الحجارة الأكبر أو الأصغر من الكرز خلال عملية التنخيل، فلا يمكن فصل الحجارة ذات الحجم المماثل لكرز القهوة إلا بطريقة الطفو. 

تتباين أسعار ومستويات تعقيد أنظمة الطفو، حيث تتنوع من الدلاء البلاستيكية إلى الآلات الضخمة التي تسمى آلات الفصل بالغسيل. وليست هناك حاجة للطفو إن لم يكن هناك أي كرز تجاوز مرحلة النضج في المزيج، ولكنها عملية مستخدمة على نطاق واسع - حتى من قبل أكبر منتجي القهوة المتخصصة. وهناك أربع طرق للقيام بذلك:

  • خزانات المياه الساكنة
  • خزانات الإفراغ بالسحب
  • القنوات ذات المصائد
  • آلات الفصل الميكانيكية بالغسيل

 

 

خزانات المياه الساكنة

نادرًا ما تُرى خزانات المياه الساكنة في محطات الغسيل الكبيرة، لأنها تحتاج إلى عمل يدوي مكثف للغاية، إلا أن هذا النظام لا يحتاج إلى أية تكاليف تجهيزية تقريبًا. وفي مقطع الفيديو التالي، يتعرف نيكولاي على كيفية عمل خزانات المياه الساكنة. وفي هذا المقطع، ترون أن خزانات المياه الساكنة تمثل الخطوة الأولى في مراقبة الجودة. ولا حاجة هنا لإجراء التذرية والتنخيل نظرًا لأن قاطفي القهوة انتقوا الكرز الناضج فقط بعناية تامة. وكما هو الحال في معظم أنحاء كولومبيا، تتسم البيئة الزراعية بانحدار شديد لا يسمح باستخدام الحصادات الميكانيكية. 

في هذا المقطع، يسافر مدرب باريستا هاسل ومشتري القهوة الخضراء، نيكولاي فورست ، إلى فينكا سان لويس ليتعرف على كيفية عمل خزانات الطفو بالمياه الساكنة.

 

 

خزانات الإفراغ بالسحب

رسم توضيحي لمقطع عرضي من خزان إفراغ بالسحب.

تُستخدم خزانات الإفراغ بالسحب على نطاق واسع في العديد من الدول المنتجة للقهوة، وهي طريقة غسيل تستهلك كميات كبيرة من الماء. وتأخذ تلك الخزانات عادة شكل حرف "V" وهي مشيّدة من الخرسانة أو السيراميك ومملوءة بالماء. كما تم مؤخرًا بناء خزانات أصغر من نفس النوع، تصل سعتها إلى متر أو مترين مكعبين فقط من الماء (264 إلى 747 جالون أمريكي)، وذلك لإتاحة تلك الطريقة لصغار المنتجين كذلك. وتعتمد تلك الخزانات في عملها على غوص الحجارة إلى قاع الشكل المدبب من الأسفل عند وضع الكرز فيها، بينما تطفو حبات الكرز الجافة والتي تجاوزت النضج المطلوب للأعلى، بالإضافة إلى الأوراق والأغصان الصغيرة، ويتم تفريغها من فتحة جانبية في الخزان. وتهبط حبات الكرز الناضجة وغير الناضجة معًا. ولا يمكن لعملية الطفو أن تفصل الكرز الناضج عن غير الناضج لأن لهما نفس الكثافة. ورغم احتواء الكرز الناضج على قدر أكبر من السكر، إلا أن كلاً من الكرز الناضج وغير الناضج يغوصان في الخزان لأن كليهما يحتويان على كمية كبيرة من الماء. (وينتنغز، 2004، الصفحة 616 ).

يتم شفط الكرز الناضج وغير الناضج من المنطقة القريبة من قاع الخزان، وفوق المستوى الذي تتجمع فيه الحجارة، ذلك أن الحجارة أثقل من أن تفرغ بالسحب، ولكن الفتحة موضوعة على مسافة قصيرة فوق قاع الخزان للتأكد من عدم خروج الحجارة على أي حال. وبعد أن يخرج الكرز بالسحب، يتم تحويله مباشرة إلى آلة إزالة القشر.

ومن التقنيات المشابهة كذلك آلات الفصل الميكانيكية بالغسيل، والتي لا تحتاج إلى نفس المستوى من الحفر أو التشييد الذي يتم في خزانات التفريغ بالسحب. وتعمل تلك الآلات على فصل الكرز الطافي فوق الماء عن الكرز الذي يغوص فيه، مع غسل قشور الكرز بالماء. وهذا المقطع المميز من كواترو إم في السلفادور يبين طريقة عمل آلة الغسيل والفصل الرائعة من صُنع شركة بينهالينس (Pinhalense) البرازيلية. وهي موجودة في بداية خط المعالجة، مباشرة بعد خزان الاستقبال وتُستخدم في تنظيف الكرز وإزالة الشوائب الخفيفة بالطفو والتخلص من الحجارة.

 

 

نهاية 2.04

PC 2.03 Flotation

Preview

A defining feature of wet processing is that the cherry needs to be depulped (see the following lesson). Not all styles of pulpers can handle unripe cherry, and none can handle stones and other inorganic material. A separation process is necessary in order to ensure that only ripe coffee cherry progress to the next stage of processing. Even though stones that are bigger or smaller than the cherry are separated by sifting, stones the same size as the cherry can be separated only by flotation. 

Flotation systems vary in price and complexity, ranging from plastic buckets to huge machines called washer-separators. Flotation is not needed if you don’t have any overripe cherry in the mix, but it is a widely used process, used by even the top specialty coffee producers. There are four ways to do it: 

  • Static water tanks
  • Siphon tanks
  • Channels with traps
  • Mechanical washer–separators

 

 

Static Water Tanks

Static water tanks are rarely seen at large washing stations because they require so much labour. However, there is almost no setup cost to this system. In the next video, Nikolai investigates how static water tanks work. In this footage, you can see that the static water tanks are the first step in the quality control. Winnowing and sifting are not needed here because the pickers have carefully hand-selected ripe cherry only. As in almost all of Colombia, the terrain is too steep for mechanical harvesters. 

In this video BH Coach and Medellin-based green buyer and Barista Hustle Coach, Nikolai Fürst travels to Finca San Luis to find out how static flotation tanks work.

 

 

Siphon Tanks

A cross sectional diagram of a siphon tank.

Siphon tanks, widely used in many coffee-producing countries, are a water-intensive washing method. They usually take the form of a concrete or ceramic V-shaped tank that is filled with water.  Smaller versions with capacities of just 1 or 2 cubic metres (264 to 747 US gallons) of water have been introduced in recent times in order to make the method available to smaller producers. Stones simply sink to the bottom of the V as the cherry are added to the tank. Overripe and dried cherry, as well as leaves and twigs, float to the top and are decanted out the side of the tank. The sinkers, which consist of ripe and unripe cherry. Flotation can’t separate unripe cherry from ripe cherry because their densities are similar. Even though ripe cherries contain more sugar, ripe and unripe cherries sink because they both have a high water content. (Wintgens, 2004, pg. 616).

The ripe and unripe cherry are sucked out from the area near the bottom of the tank, above the level where the stones collect. Stones should be too heavy to be drawn into the syphon, but the inlet is positioned a little way above the bottom of the tank to make sure of that. After the sinkers emerge from the siphon, they are diverted directly into the pulper.

A similar technology that doesn’t require the same level of excavation or the construction as syphon tanks are mechanical washer-separators. These machines separate floaters and sinkers as well as washing the skins of the cherries in water. This excellent video from Cuatro M in El Salvador shows a Brazilian made Pinhalense washer-separator in action. It is positioned at the beginning of the processing line directly after the reception tank and is used  to clean the cherries and to remove floaters, stones, and light material.

 

 

End 2.04

Back to: Processing > The Wet Mill

You have Successfully Subscribed!