loader image

PC 3.09 - معالجة المياه العادمة

معاينة

تؤكد مجموعة من المصادر أن الطريقة الأكثر شيوعًا للتعامل مع المياه العادمة الناشئة عن عملية إنتاج القهوة ومعالجتها هي بإلقائها في المجاري المائية. (جيه. إن. وينتنغز، 2004; ⁩سوبريا راتان وآخرون، 2015⁧). الطريقة التقليدية لمعالجة المياه العادمة الناتجة عن عمليات معالجة القهوة تكون بوضعها داخل حوض يبلغ عمقه مترين تقريبًا وترك الماء يتسرب ببطء إلى التربة. ويمكن معادلة انخفاض درجة الحموضة لمياه الحوض بإضافة التلك (معدن طيني)، غير أن مشكلة هذا النظام البسيط تكون في موسم الأمطار الذي عادة ما يأتي بعد الحصاد، حيث يمكن أن يتسبب هطول الأمطار بفيضان الأحواض مما يؤدي إلى تسرب الملوثات إلى المجاري المائية (⁧⁩سوبريا راتان وآخرون، 2015⁧). 

ولزيادة فاعلية هذه الطريقة، يمكن دمج الأحواض لتكون المرحلة الأخيرة من عملية التنقية المعتمدة في نظام أكثر تعقيدًا كالنظام الذي اقترحه ⁧⁩جيه. سي. فون إندن وآخرون، (2002)⁧ (اطلع على ما يلي). فهذا النظام يدمج استخدام الأحواض الرسوبية مع عملية هضم الغاز الحيوي. تحتوي مخلفات القهوة على كميات كبيرة من الركائز العضوية، بما في ذلك الكربوهيدرات والبروتينات والبكتينات والألياف والدهون، مما يجعلها مناسبة جدًا للتحويل إلى منتجات حيوية مثل الديزل الحيوي والغاز الحيوي (جاثو وآخرون، 1991). ومع ذلك، فنظرًا لأن بعض المواد الكيميائية الموجودة في مخلفات القهوة، بما في ذلك الكافيين والفينولات الحرة والعفص أو التانين (البوليفينولات)، معروفة بأنها سامة للعديد من العمليات الحياتية، وبسبب المخاوف المتعلقة بالصحة العامة والبيئة، فقد تراجع الإقبال على الخطط المحتملة لجني الأموال والصديقة للبيئة مثل هضم الغاز الحيوي.  

نموذج لمعالجة ⁧⁩مياه التخمير⁧ المستهلكة في فيتنام باستخدام نظام استهلاك الغاز الحيوي وأحواض المعالجة التي تستخدم المقصبة (⁩جيه. سي. فون إندن وآخرون⁧⁩⁧ ⁩⁧⁩2002⁧⁩)

تبدو الوسائل التي تتضمن نظام هضم الغاز الحيوي واعدة للغاية لكنها لا تزال باهظة الثمن لدرجة تثني عنها، كما أنها تتطلب إدارة دقيقة تمامًا "للهاضم" بالإضافة إلى التقنية لتحقيق الاستقرار في درجات الحرارة داخلها. وقد تم استكشاف تقنيات أخرى على نطاق ضيق، مثل إنتاج وقود الديزل الحيوي من النفايات. تقترح الكميات الكبيرة من لب القهوة التي تنتجها هذه الصناعة العديد من مصادر الدخل المحتملة، مثل إنتاج السيلاج (علف محفوظ) المستخدم في تغذية الحيوانات وتربية الديدان وإنتاج الخل والبروتين وحيد الخلية والمبيدات الحشرية الحيوية والمعينات الحيوية، لكن أيًا منها لم يصل حتى إلى نطاق المشروع التجريبي (⁩مورثي وآخرون، 2012⁧⁩).

ووفقًا لـ ⁩جيه. كيه.⁧⁩⁧ ⁩⁧⁩مبورو وبي. كيه.⁧⁩⁧ ⁩⁧⁩موارا (1996⁧) فإن أسهل طريقة لاستخدام المنتجات الثانوية من المعالجة الرطبة هي بتحويل المخلفات إلى سماد عضوي لاستخدامه كمصدر لتغذية التربة وتخصيبها. ومن الاستخدامات المحتملة الأخرى لها هي إضافة المخلفات إلى مخاليط الأعلاف الحيوانية، واستخدامها لإنتاج الفطر، والاستفادة منها في استخلاص مادة الخل. كما ويقترح مبورو وموارا اعتماد إنتاج الفحم من قشور القهوة واستخدام قشور الرقائق في إنتاج مواد البناء.  

 

الحل الفوري

من الأسهل والأرخص إزالة المواد الصلبة من كمية صغيرة من المياه عالية التركيز بدلًا من إزالة الكمية ذاتها من الملوثات المختلطة في كميات كبيرة من المياه. ولهذا السبب، وعلى مدار العشرين عامًا الماضية، تم إدخال العديد من التغييرات على أنظمة المعالجة الرطبة التقليدية في دولٍ مثل كولومبيا، على سبيل المثال. وكلما قل التلامس بين اللب والماء قلّت احتمالية تلوث المياه المستخدمة في مراحل لاحقة. ومن الجدير بالذكر أن الطرق المتبعة في إزالة اللب الجاف و ⁩التخمير⁧⁩ الجاف لا تتطلب استخدام أي مقدار من المياه، حيث يمكن إجراء فصل الكثافة في المطحنة الجافة (انظر الفصل 6) بدلاً من اللجوء إلى قنوات الغسيل.

عند المفاضلة بين إيجابيات وسلبيات المعالجة الرطبة التقليدية، فمن المهم أن نتذكر أن القهوة القادمة من محطات الغسيل التي تستخدم كميات كبيرة من الماء والموجودة في أماكن مثل إثيوبيا وكينيا تنتج بعضًا من أكثر نكهات القهوة روعة في العالم. وليس هناك شك بأن الماء يؤدي دورًا أساسيًا في الوصول إلى هذه النكهات الاستثنائية، لذلك، فإن الهدف الذي ينبغي تحقيقه هو توفير الدعم لهذا التقليد بالغ القيمة من خلال الممارسات التجارية العادلة، لأن البنية التحتية الصديقة للبيئة لأنظمة المعالجة الرطبة تتطلب استثمارات رأسمالية لا تملكها العديد من المناطق ذات الناتج المحلي الإجمالي المنخفض، مثل مدينة جيما.

يقترح وينتنغز نهجًا من خمس خطوات للحد من مشكلة تلوث المياه التي تتسبب بها عملية المعالجة الرطبة:
1) استخدام خزانات الاستقبال شبه الجافة أو الجافة تمامًا بدلاً من استخدام الماء لغسل كرز القهوة في المطحنة الرطبة.
2) خفض سعة خزانات الإفراغ بالسحب (خزانات الطفو) إلى ربع سعتها الأصلية.
3)  تصميم واستخدام آلات إزالة القشور التي تعمل بدون ماء.
4) التغذية الميكانيكية لآلات إزالة القشر بكرز القهوة الناضجة عن طريق الناقلات اللولبية (التغذية بكرز القهوة الجافة).
5)  النقل الميكانيكي للب بواسطة الأحزمة الناقلة والناقلات اللولبية..

تسهم عملية إزالة اللب بالناقلات اللولبية في تجنب امتصاص الماء غير الضروري، وهو ما يؤدي إلى تسريع التحلل، وتسهيل النقل، وتقليل خروج الروائح الكريهة. يمكنك مشاهدة فيديو من مزارع ⁩سويت مارياز⁧⁩ . في سان فرانسيسكو لمستوردي القهوة الخضراء، يظهر الناقل اللولبي أثناء إزالة اللب من آلة إزالة القشر.

 

 

إعادة تدوير المياه

عند اعتماد إعادة تدوير المياه في المعالجة الرطبة، يمكن تقليل استهلاك المياه إلى 8-22 لتر ماء لكل كجم من القهوة الخضراء بدلًا من استهلاك 40-80 لتر ماء لكل كجم من القهوة الخضراء عندما لا تتم إعادة التدوير. (جيه. إن.⁧ ⁩وينتنغز، 2004، صفحة⁧ ⁩922). وهذه العملية بسيطة للغاية، وتتطلب سلسلة متتالية من خزانات الترسيب التي تقوم بصب الطبقة العليا من كل خزان في الخزان التالي كما هو موضح أدناه.

رسم تخطيطي لنظام إعادة تدوير المياه. 1: فتحة المدخل للمياه العادمة، 2: مصفاة لتنظيف خزانات المياه، 3: خزانات المياه، 4: الأنابيب، 5: مضخة إعادة التدوير، 6: المياه التي تعود مجددًا إلى النظام.

يوضح الرسم التخطيطي أعلاه كيفية إزالة الرواسب من المياه التي يمكن إعادة استخدامها في خزانات الطفو وعملية إزالة القشور. لا يُنصح باستخدام المياه المُعاد تدويرها في عمليات التخمير الرطب. فكلما طالت مدة إعادة استخدام المياه المُعاد تدويرها، زادت احتمالية ظهور الكائنات الحية والمواد الكيميائية الضارة في المياه، مثل الأمونيا. يوصي وينتنغز بضرورة استخدام المياه المُعاد تدويرها لمدة أقصاها 48 ساعة لتجنب انتقال الملوثات إلى قشور القهوة ((جيه. إن.⁧ ⁩وينتنغز، 2004، صفحة⁧ ⁩653).

 

العودة إلى: المعالجة > Flora

2 تعليقات

  1. charlesnouwen

    There are some mistakes in the quiz of this chapter I believe. Question 4. PC3.5 says that Respiration is a process that produces oxygen as a by product ???

    In the same quiz, Question 2 doesn’t relates to the suggested answers of Question 2. Looks like question 2 is same as 1 but with different answers

    Finally for some reason chapter PC 3.09 comes after the closing quiz in the sequence which is odd.

تقديم تعليق

You have Successfully Subscribed!

loader image

PC 3.09 – Wastewater Treatment

Preview

A range of sources confirm that the most common way of dealing with wastewater pollution from coffee processing is to dump it into waterways. (J. N. Wintgens, 2004; S. Rattan et al., 2015). When wastewater from coffee processing is treated, the traditional approach is to pour it into a pond around 2 meters deep and leave the water to slowly percolate into the soil. The low pH of pond water can be neutralised by the addition of talc (a clay mineral). The trouble with this simple system is that the rainy season, which usually follows the harvest, can cause ponds to overflow, causing the contaminants to spill into waterways (S. Rattan et al., 2015). 

To increase their effectiveness, the ponds can be integrated as the final purification stage in a more complex system such as one suggested by J.C. von Enden et al., (2002) (see below). This system combines the sediment ponds with biogas digestion. Coffee waste contains high amounts of organic substrates — including carbohydrates, proteins, pectins, fibres, and fats — which make it very suitable for conversion into bioproducts such as biodiesel and biogas (Gathuo et al., 1991). However, because some chemicals contained in coffee waste, including caffeine, free phenols, and tannins (polyphenols), are known to be toxic to many life processes, due to public and environmental health concerns, the uptake of potential moneymaking and environmentally friendly schemes such as biogas digestion has been slow. 

A model for processing spent fermentation water in Vietnam using biogas digestion and reed ponds (J.C. von Enden et al. 2002)

Methods involving biogas digestion look very promising, but they are still regarded as prohibitively expensive. They also require quite precise management of the digester as well as technology to stabilise the temperatures within it. Other technologies, such as the production of biodiesel from waste products, have been explored on a small scale. The large quantities of coffee pulp generated by the industry suggest many potential income streams, such as the production of silage for animal feed, worm farming, vinegar, single-cell protein, biopesticides, and probiotics, but none of these have reached even the scale of a pilot project (Murthy et al., 2012).

The easiest way of utilising the by-products of wet processing, according to J. K. Mburu and P. K. Mwaura (1996), is composting the wastes to organic manure for use as a nutrient source and a soil conditioner. Other potential uses include adding wastes to animal feed mixtures; using them for mushroom production; and utilising them for the extraction of vinegar. Mburu and Mwaura also suggest producing charcoal from coffee husks and using parchment husks in the production of building materials. 

 

The Immediate Solution

It is easier and cheaper to remove solids from a small quantity of heavily concentrated water than it is to remove the same amount of pollutants mixed into many tonnes of water. For this reason, over the last 20 years, many changes have been made to the traditional wet processing systems in places such as Colombia. The less the pulp comes in contact with water, the less polluting potential any water used at later stages will have. Dry pulping and dry fermentation methods don’t require any water. Density separation can be carried out at the dry mill (see Chapter 6) instead of via washing streets. 

When weighing the pros and cons of traditional wet processing, it is important to remember that coffees coming from water-intensive washing stations in places such as Ethiopia and Kenya produce some of the most spectacular coffee flavours found anywhere. And there is little doubt that water plays an essential role in achieving these delicate flavour profiles. The goal should therefore be to support this valuable tradition with equitable trading practices because eco-friendly infrastructure in wet processing requires capital investment that many low-GDP regions, such as Jimma, don’t have. 

Wintgens suggests a five-step approach to reducing water pollution in wet processing:
1) Incorporation of semi-dry or fully dry reception tanks instead of using water to wash the cherries into the wet mill.
2)  Reduction of the siphons (flotation tanks) to a quarter of their original capacity.
3)  Design and implementation of pulpers that operate without water.
4)  Mechanical feeding of ripe cherries to the pulpers by means of screw conveyors (feeding in dry cherry).
5)  Mechanical conveyance of the pulp by means of conveyor belts and and screw conveyors.

Removing pulp with screw conveyors helps avoid undue water absorption, thereby promoting faster decomposition, facilitating transportation, and minimising noxious odours. You can see a screw conveyor removing the pulp from the pulping machine in this excellent video from San Francisco based green coffee importers, Sweet Marias.

 

 

Water Recirculation

When water recirculation is adopted in wet processing, water consumption can be reduced to 8–22 litres of water per kilogram of green coffee — down from 40–80 litres of water per kilogram of green coffee where no recycling is practiced (J. N. Wintgens, 2004, pg. 922). The process is very simple, requiring a series of sedimentation tanks that decant the top layer of each tank into the next tank in the series, as depicted below.

A diagram of a water recirculation system. 1: waste water inlet, 2: drain for cleaning the water tanks, 3: water tanks, 4: pipes, 5: recycling pump, 6: water that returns to the system.

The diagram above shows how sediment is removed from water that can be reused in flotation tanks and pulping. It is not recommended to use recycled water for wet fermentations. The longer the recycled water is reused, the more likely it is that harmful organisms and chemicals, such as ammonia, could develop in it. Wintgens recommends that recycled water should be used for a maximum of 48 hours to avoid contamination of the coffee parchment (J. N. Wintgens, 2004, pg. 653).

 

Back to: Processing > Flora

2 Comments

  1. charlesnouwen

    There are some mistakes in the quiz of this chapter I believe. Question 4. PC3.5 says that Respiration is a process that produces oxygen as a by product ???

    In the same quiz, Question 2 doesn’t relates to the suggested answers of Question 2. Looks like question 2 is same as 1 but with different answers

    Finally for some reason chapter PC 3.09 comes after the closing quiz in the sequence which is odd.

    • BHLearn

      Thanks Charles. We’ve edited those errors. Yes indeed: CO2 and water as a bi-product.BH

Submit a Comment

You have Successfully Subscribed!