البرمجة، والأجزاء، والأوراق

P 4.01 – برمجة مراحل تفتح القهوة وتخفيفها وسحبها

دراسة حالة أجراها سكوت راو

ألّف سكوت راو، معلم القهوة العالمي البارز، كتاب "كل شيء ما عدا الإسبريسو" (Everything but Espresso)، وهو كتاب مؤثر عن القهوة المرشحة.

عندما تقوم ببرمجة آلة تحضير القهوة على دفعات أو التخطيط فحسب لإعداد المشروبات يدويًا، فإن تقسيم دورة التخمير إلى ثلاث مراحل سيساعدك في تحقيق المزيد من الاتساق. وهذا يعكس بدقة الطريقة التي تنظم بها محامص القهوة إجراءات التحميص. فإذا كنت على دراية بعملية تحميص القهوة، ستعلم أن المحامص تركز بشكل خاص على تتبع اللحظات المهمة في عملية التحميص كما هو الحال عند حدوث أول تشقق (عندما تتمدد حبوب القهوة بسرعة، بشكل يشبه إلى حد ما حبات الفشار).

في عملية التخمير، تعد اللحظة التي تشير إلى بداية المرحلة النهائية من التخمير هي بداية مرحلة السحب. وهي اللحظة التي تأتي بعد أن تنتهي أنت (أو آلة التخمير الميكانيكية) من إضافة كل كمية الماء إلى خليط القهوة.عندما يُعلّم سكوت راو عملية التخمير، فإنه ينصح بزمن امتزاج إجمالي يتراوح بين 6:00 و6:30 دقائق لجميع أحجام دفعات المشروبات. وعندما يخطط لإجمالي وقت التسليم، يقوم ببرمجة آلة التخمير لإكمال توزيع كل كمية الماء بعد 4:30 دقائق. فإذا كانت آلة تحضير القهوة على دفعات التي تستخدمها تتيح تحديد عدد النبضات، فنحن ننصح بست نبضات كحدٍ أدنى.

وقد وضعنا مخططًا يوضح نقاط التحول الرئيسية في كمية التدفق ويمثل مرجعًا بصريًا لهذه الأهداف الزمنية. ويوضح الرسم البياني أدناه المراحل الرئيسية الثلاث مع التفاوتات التي يستخدمها سكوت بين نهاية مرحلة التفتح من الثانية 45 حتى 60 ثانية. كما يشير الرسم البياني أيضًا إلى هامش الخطأ الذي يوصي به والبالغ 30 ثانية بعد انتهاء عملية السحب بين الدقيقة 6 و6:30.

 

 

 

Illustration: A Graph Showing a delivery time profile based on Scott Rao’s preferences for batch brewing. The chart is colour coded to show التفتح on the left up until 1 minute.

loader image

P 4.01 – Programming the Bloom, Dilution, and Drawdown Phases

Please sign up for the course before starting the lesson.

A Scott Rao Case Study

Scott Rao, the world’s preeminent coffee educator, authored Everything but Espresso, the influential book on filter coffee.

When you are programming your batch brewer or just planning your pour-over routine, thinking about the brew cycle in three phases will help you get more consistency. This mirrors very closely the way coffee roasters organise their roasting processes. If you are familiar with roasting coffee, you will know roasters are particularly focussed on tracking key moments in the roast such as when first crack occurs (when the beans rapidly expand, a bit like popcorn kernels popping).

In brewing, the moment that signals the start of the final phase of brewing is the beginning of the drawdown phase. This is the moment after you have (or your mechanical brewer has) finished adding all the water to the slurry. When Scott Rao teaches brewing, for all batch brew sizes, he recommends a total contact time of between 6:00 and 6:30 minutes:seconds. And when he is planning his total delivery time, he programmes his brewer to finish dispensing all the water after 4:30 minutes:seconds. If your batch brewer allows you to select the number of pulses, we recommend a minimum of six pulses.

To give you a visual reference for these time targets, we have created a chart that plots the key turning points in the flow profile. This chart (below) illustrates the three key phases with the tolerances Scott uses between the end of the blooming phase from 45-60 seconds. It also indicates the 30 seconds margin of error at the end of the drawdown between 6 minutes and 6:30 that he recommends.

 

 

 

Illustration: A Graph Showing a delivery time profile based on Scott Rao’s preferences for batch brewing. The chart is colour coded to show blooming on the left up until 1 minute.

Back to: Percolation > Programming, Parts, and Papers

You have Successfully Subscribed!