مقدمة حول البيئة الزراعية

T 0.02 الخلفية التاريخية

المنشأ - في غابات كافا السحابية، جنوب غرب إثيوبيا، تنمو قهوة الأرابيكا كنباتات حرجية. وتحدد التقاليد المحلية مناطق جني حبوب القهوة في هذه الغابات ومن المسموح له بحصادها. إلا أن نباتات القهوة التي تنمو في مثل هذه البيئة الزراعية المظللة بكثافة تنتج محصولاً أقل بكثير من تلك المعرضة لأشعة الشمس الكاملة في معظم المزارع البرازيلية الكبيرة.

ويعتقد العديد من علماء النبات أن جنوب غرب إثيوبيا هو منشأ قهوة الأرابيكا، لكن الجدل ما يزال قائمًا حول منشئها الحقيقي. ففي جنوب السودان، على سبيل المثال، وعلى مسافة تبعد قليلاً عن مناطق الهضاب، تتجاهل نباتات قهوة الأرابيكا البرية الحدود التي وضعها الإنسان.
فقد كانت البيئة الزراعية الأصلية للقهوة، في الغابات القديمة على هضبة بوما في إثيوبيا وجنوب السودان، مختلفة تمامًا عن بيئة شبه الجزيرة العربية وميناء المخا، حيث ظهرت تجارة القهوة العالمية لأول مرة في القرن السادس عشر. ويرى خبير تصنيف القهوة المرموق في حدائق النباتات الملكية (حدائق كيو)، آرون ديفيس، أن حركة تجارة القهوة عبر البحر الأحمر كانت تسير باتجاهين جيف كوهلر، عام 2016). ). وبعد وصول القهوة إلى اليمن، تأقلمت سلالاتها الوراثية بمرور الوقت مع البيئة الزراعية الجافة وضعف خصوبة التربة في البلاد. وفي نهاية المطاف، عادت هذه الأصناف إلى إثيوبيا بعد أن أجريت عليها بعض التحسينات.


تبين هذه الخريطة: 1. منطقة كافا، و2. الوادي المتصدع، و3. ميناء المخا. وقد تم العثور على نباتات قهوة الأرابيكا البرية النامية على جانبي الوادي المتصدع على ارتفاع 1000 إلى 2000 متر فوق سطح البحر

 

تصنيف قهوة الأرابيكا - لماذا لم يطلق عليها القهوة الإثيوبية؟

وفقًا للباحث والكاتب جيف كوهلر، فقد قام كارل لينيوس، مؤسس علم تصنيف ,النباتات في العام 1753، "بالاستحواذ على حق ملكية إثيوبيا للقهوة بصورة غير متعمدة". وتوصل لينيوس إلى اسم قهوة الأرابيكا باستخدام نظامه الجديد لتصنيف النباتات. وفي كتابه المميز " فصائل النباتات " (Species Plantarum)، أضاف لينيوس كلمة "أرابيكا" (arabica) (المشتقة من شبه الجزيرة العربية) إلى الجزء الخاص بالقهوة. ويوضح كوهلر ذلك بقوله -

A decade or so later he published Potus Coffea,

loader image

T 0.02 History

Please sign up for the course before starting the lesson.

Origin – In the cloud forests of Kaffa, in southwest Ethiopia, Coffea arabica grows as an understory plant. Local tradition stipulates where the coffee can be gathered in the forests and who can harvest it. Coffee plants that grow in this type of heavily shaded terroir have a far lower yield than those grown in full sun on most of the intensively farmed large Brazilian plantations.

Many botanists consider southwest Ethiopia to be the birthplace of Arabica coffee, but the debate about its precise origin is not settled. In Southern Sudan, for example, a bit farther down the plateau, wild arabica ignores human-made borders.
The original terroir of coffee, in the ancient forests on the Boma plateau of Ethiopia and South Sudan, was quite different from that of the Arabian peninsula and the Port of Mocca, from where the global coffee trade first emerged in the sixteenth century. In the opinion of coffee’s leading taxonomist, Aaron Davis of Kew Gardens, it was two-way traffic for coffee across the Red Sea (Jeff Koehler, 2016). Coffee arrived in Yemen and, over time, genetic strains adapted to Yemen’s dryer terroir and poor soil. Eventually, these varieties returned to Ethiopia with certain improvements.      

This map shows 1. Kaffa, 2. the Rift Valley and 3. Port of Mokha. Wild Arabica is found growing on either side of the Rift Valley between 1000–2000 m.a.s.l.

 

The Taxonomy of C. Arabica – Why isn’t it Called C. Aethiopica?

In 1753, Carl Linnaeus, the originator of plant taxonomy, “unintentionally hijacked Ethiopia’s proprietorship of coffee,” according to writer-researcher Jeff Koehler. Linnaeus had already arrived at the name Coffea (C.), using his new system of classifying plants. In his definitive work Species Plantarum, he added the word arabica (from Arabia) to the passage about coffee. Koehler explains –

A decade or so later he published Potus Coffea,

Back to: Terroir > Terroir Prologue

You have Successfully Subscribed!