T 1.03 الارتفاع الجغرافي وخطوط العرض — مقابلة مع ويليم بوت

معاينة

المنظر من فينكا صوفيا ، بنما. تصوير ديفيد بول.

تنمو قهوة الأرابيكا فقط في بيئتها الأصلية على ارتفاعات تتراوح بين 1000 و2000 متر فوق مستوى سطح البحر. (كريستين ب. شميت، 2006) ولكن هناك مزارع للقهوة على ارتفاعات تتراوح بين مستوى سطح البحر حتى ارتفاع 2800 متر. والسبب في هذا النطاق المحدود للنمو هو ضعف تحمُّل فصائل هذه النباتات للصقيع - إذ أن استمرار درجات الحرارة لأقل من 4 درجات مئوية سيؤدي إلى موتها. كما أن قابلية قهوة الأرابيكا للتأثر بمسببات الأمراض تحد أيضًا من إمكانية نموها على ارتفاعات منخفضة، حيث تزدهر هذه الكائنات الحية الدقيقة.

يرتبط الارتفاع الجغرافي للنمو ارتباطًا مباشرًا "بنطاق درجات الحرارة" المثالي للنبات. بعبارة أخرى، فإن نجاح زراعة قهوة الأرابيكا يعتمد على توازن دقيق بين الارتفاع الجغرافي وخطوط العرض. فحتى يتيح التنفس الخلوي الأمثل إنتاج محصول جيد بنكهة رائعة، يذكر المهندس الزراعي ليوناردو هيناو أن درجة الحرارة النهارية التي تتراوح بين 17 و23 درجة مئوية هي العامل الأساسي لتعزيز التمثيل الغذائي للقهوة وتخزين السكريات في بذورها. (يمكنك الاستماع إلى مناقشة حول هذا الموضوع في هذا البث الصوتي من توم أوين.) فإذا كانت درجة الحرارة خارج هذا النطاق، يكون نبات القهوة عمليًا في حالة سبات. وغالبًا ما يتحقق هذا التوازن في الحزام الاستوائي الدافئ على ارتفاعات تتراوح بين 1000 و2000 متر فوق مستوى سطح البحر.

قد تنمو قهوة الأرابيكا خارج المناطق الاستوائية، ولكن البيئة الزراعية المناسبة غالبًا ما تكون عند خطوط العرض المنخفضة. وتعتبر المناطق الواقعة حول خليج بايرون في أستراليا خير مثال على ذلك، حيث يساعد مناخ الغابات المطيرة شبه الاستوائية القريبة من البحر على منع تكون الصقيع. ولعلك تتذكر من دروس الجغرافيا في المدرسة الثانوية أن تغير درجات حرارة المحيطات يكون أبطأ بكثير من تغير درجات حرارة اليابسة. ويرجع ذلك إلى أن الحرارة النوعية للماء أعلى بكثير من تلك الخاصة بالأرض والصخر، حيث يستهلك تسخين كيلو جرام واحد من الماء بمقدار درجة مئوية واحدة حوالي خمسة أضعاف الطاقة الشمسية اللازمة لتسخين كيلو جرام واحد من الصخر بمقدار درجة مئوية واحدة.

 

مقابلة مع ويليم بوت

يعتبر ويليم بوت رائدًا في زراعة مستنبتات قهوة الغيشا في المناطق المرتفعة الواقعة حول منطقة بوكيتي في بنما. ويقال أن مزرعته، فينكا صوفيا (Finca Sophia) هي أكثر مزارع أمريكا الوسطى ارتفاعًا. وقد كان معلمًا مؤثرًا في مجال القهوة في مدرسته "بوت كوفي" (Boot Coffee). والجدير بالذكر أن بوت كان أحد أعضاء لجنة التحكيم التي شهدت إعادة اكتشاف قهوة الغيشا في عام 2004.

باريستا هاسل: ما هو مدى ارتفاع مزرعة فينكا صوفيا؟

ويليم: يتراوح بين 1900 إلى 2150 مترًا [أي حوالي 6200 إلى 7000 قدم].

باريستا هاسل: خلال بحثنا، وقعنا على بعض الأوراق البحثية التي تشير إلى أن مذاق القهوة يزداد حموضة مع الارتفاع. فهل أجريت أي قياسات تؤكد ذلك؟ على سبيل المثال، هل تتمتع القهوة الموجودة في الأجزاء المنخفضة من المزرعة بحموضة أقل بكثير من القهوة الموجودة في الأجزاء الأكثر ارتفاعًا؟

ويليم: لم يسبق لي أن أجريت هذا القياس أو المقارنة مطلقًا. ولكنني أرجح أن يكون فرق الحموضة ملحوظًا.

باريستا هاسل: هل يمكنك أن تخبرنا كيف يؤثر الارتفاع الجغرافي على مجموعات مسببات الأمراض في مزرعتك مقارنة بمزارع بوكيتي الأخرى الواقعة على ارتفاعات أقل؟ وهل ما يزال رش النباتات لحمايتها من آفة "صدأ أوراق القهوة" ضروريًا؟

ويليم: لا نواجه أي مشاكل على الإطلاق مع هذه الآفة، ولكن بسبب الأجواء المرتفعة والباردة، لدينا مشاكل مع مرض موت الأطراف، الذي يتجلى عندما تتحول الأوراق إلى اللون الأسود.

باريستا هاسل: هل يكون عدد الحشرات أقل في المناطق الأكثر ارتفاعًا؟ وإذا صح هذا الأمر، فهل هو مفيد أم ضار بالنباتات؟

ويليم: نعم. لكن ليس لدي علم بها.

باريستا هاسل: هل هناك فرق ملحوظ في نوع التربة أو تغذيتها على ارتفاع مزرعتك مقارنة مع المزارع الواقعة على ارتفاعات أقل؟

ويليم: ليس بالضرورة. كما أن خصوبة التربة تعتمد إلى حدٍ كبير على الأنشطة والممارسات السابقة في المزرعة. ففي وقت من الأوقات، تسببت تربية الماشية في مزرعتي في انضغاط التربة في بعض الأماكن.

باريستا هاسل: هل تواجه أي مشاكل بسبب زيادة الأشعة فوق البنفسجية على الارتفاعات الأعلى؟ وإذا صح هذا الأمر، فهل لكون المزرعة مظللة من عدمه أي أهمية مقارنة بالمزارع الموجودة أسفل الجبل؟

ويليم: نعم. وتتأثر بذلك الأشجار الجديدة على وجه الخصوص، حيث يعد وجود الظل الكافي أمرًا أساسيًا، وكذلك تعتبر إمكانية تخفيف الظل بمجرد أن تحتاج الأشجار إلى ضوء الشمس المباشر لتزدهر أمرًا أساسيًا أيضًا.

باريستا هاسل: هل تهطل كمية أكبر من الأمطار على مزرعتك كونها في أعلى الجبل؟

ويليم: لا، ليس بالضرورة.

باريستا هاسل: هل تعرضت مزرعتك لتكوّن الصقيع؟ وهل هناك أي إجراءات يمكنك اتخاذها لتقليل هذا الخطر؟

ويليم: لا، ليس على حد علمي. فأنا أزرع نباتات سريعة النمو وغير توغلية بالقرب من أشجار القهوة، كي ترفع درجة الحرارة قليلاً حول الأشجار.

باريستا هاسل: هل هناك شيء فريد في صنف قهوة الغيشا يجعلها تتكيف بشكل جيد مع الزراعة على ارتفاعات عالية؟

ويليم: في الواقع، تتركز نكهة الغيشا في المناطق الأكثر ارتفاعًا، أكثر بكثير من غيرها من الأصناف. إلا أنه لا يوجد دليل على أن الأشجار تنمو بشكل أفضل في أعلى الجبل. كذلك، فإن بنية جذور الغيشا ضعيفة، ولا تقيها من الرياح، وهو أمر مزعج، خاصة في المناطق المرتفعة!

باريستا هاسل: حسب فهمنا، غالبًا ما تجني محصولك متأخرًا جدًا عن مزارع بوكيت الأخرى، مما يعني أنه في كثير من الأحيان تكون مسابقة أفضل قهوة متخصصة في بنما (BOP) قد أقيمت قبل حتى أن تنتهي من جني محصولك. فبناءً على تجربتك، هل يحسّن النضج البطيء من نكهة القهوة، أم أن له سلبيات؟

ويليم: في هذه الحالة، يصبح "الصبر" مهمًا جدًا! ولا أرى أي مساوئ ما لم يستغرق نضج الثمار فترة تطول حتى الموسم التالي، مع هطول الأمطار الغزيرة.

 

نهاية 1.03

العودة إلى: البيئة الزراعية > Temperature

2 تعليقات

تقديم تعليق

You have Successfully Subscribed!

T 1.03 Altitude and Latitude — Interview with Willem Boot

Preview

The view from Finca Sophia, Panama. Photo by David Pohl.

Arabica coffee is only found growing in its indigenous environment at elevations between 1000 and 2000 metres above sea level. (Schmitt, Christine B., 2006) But you will find coffee plantations at elevations ranging from sea level to as high as 2800 metres. The reason for this limited growing range is the species’ relatively low tolerance to frost — sustained temperatures below 4° C will kill the plant. Arabica’s susceptibility to fungal pathogens also limits its success at low altitudes, where such microorganisms are more likely to thrive.

The growing altitude correlates directly to the plant’s ideal ‘temperature band’. In other words, successfully growing arabica coffee depends on a delicate balance between altitude and latitude. For optimal cellular respiration to produce good yields and great flavour, agronomist Leonardo Henao states that a daytime temperature between 17 and 23° C is the key factor in optimising coffee metabolism and the storage of sugars in the seed. Outside of this temperature band, the coffee plant is effectively asleep. In the warm, tropical belt, this balance is most often achieved at elevations of between 1000 and 2000 metres above sea level.

Arabica coffee can grow outside the tropics, but in these instances the suitable terroir tends to be found at lower latitudes. An example of this occurs around Byron Bay in Australia, where a subtropical rainforest climate in close proximity to the sea helps to prevent frost. As you may recall from high school geography class, ocean temperatures are far slower to change than the temperatures on land. This is because the specific heat of water is much higher than earth and stone; it takes about five times as much energy from the sun to heat 1 kilogram of water by 1 degree Celsius than it does to heat 1 kg of rock by 1 degree.

 

An Interview with Willem Boot

Willem Boot is a pioneer of high-altitude farming of the geisha coffee cultivar around Boquete in Panama. In fact, his farm Finca Sophia is said to be the highest-altitude farm in Central America. He has been an influential coffee educator with his school Boot Coffee. Notably, Boot was part of the judging panel who witnessed the rediscovery of geisha in 2004.

BH: What is the altitude range of Finca Sophia?

Willem: It ranges from 1900 to 2150 metres [about 6200 to 7000 feet].

BH: In our research we have found some research papers that indicate coffee acidity increases with altitude. Have you taken any measurements that corroborate this? For example, does the coffee at the bottom of your farm have a measurably lower acidity than the coffee from lots on the highest parts of the farm?

Willem: I have never measured or compared this, but most likely the acidity difference will be noticeable.

BH: Can you tell us how high altitude affects the populations of pathogens on your farm compared with other Boquete farms at lower altitudes? Is it still necessary to spray for leaf rust?

Willem: We have no problems whatsoever with leaf rust but, due to the higher and colder conditions, we do have issues with die-back, which manifests itself when the tip leaves turn black.

BH: Is it a tendency that there are fewer insects at higher altitudes? If so, are there any benefits or disadvantages to the plants?

Willem: Yes. Not that I am aware of.

BH: Is there a noticeable difference in soil type or soil nutrition at your altitude compared with that of the farms at lower altitudes?

Willem: Not necessarily. Soil fertility is also very much dependent on previous activities and practices at the farm. At Sophia there were, at some point, cattle, which compacted the soil in some places.

BH: Do you experience problems with increased UV radiation at higher altitudes? If so, is it more important or less important to have shade on your farm, compared with on farms lower down the mountain?

Willem: Yes. Especially, new trees suffer the impact. Having sufficient shade is key, and being able to cut back shade once the tree needs direct sunlight for blossoming is also key.

BH: Do you get higher rainfall by being higher up the mountain?

Willem: No, not necessarily.

BH: Have you experienced frost on your farm? Are there any measures you can take to reduce this risk?

Willem: No, not that I’m aware of. Plant rapid growing, non-invasive plants near the coffee trees. They might be able to facilitate a slightly higher temperature around the coffee trees.

BH: Is there something unique about the geisha variety that makes it well adapted to growing at high altitudes?

Willem: Actually, the flavour of Geisha is amplified at higher elevations, much more than with other varieties. There is no proof that the trees do better higher up the mountain. Geisha has a poor root structure which protects it inadequately against winds, which happens to be a major pain in the ass, especially at higher elevations!

BH: As we understand it, your harvest is often quite a lot later than that of the other Boquete farms, which means they have often carried out the Best of Panama (BOP) grower’s competition before your harvest has even been taken in. In your experience, does slower maturation improve coffee flavour, or are there disadvantages?

Willem: In this scenario, “patience” becomes very important! I can’t think of any disadvantage unless the lengthy ripening takes the cherries into the next season of the year, with lots of rain.

 

End 1.03

Back to: Terroir > Temperature

2 Comments

  1. jdmockford

    Hi, any idea when the interview with Luiz Roberto Saldanha Rodrigues will be uploaded? Thanks 🙂

Submit a Comment

You have Successfully Subscribed!