T 2.05 Погода

Пожалуйста, запишитесь на course, прежде чем начать этот урок.

Осадки

Самый высокий уровень осадков, наблюдаемый в тропиках, примерно соответствует сезону, когда солнце находится в зените в этом регионе. Например, в тропике Рака самые сильные дожди идут примерно во время летнего солнцестояния в Северном полушарии (21 июня). Годовое количество осадков в большинстве регионов выращивания находится в диапазоне 1500–2000 миллиметров (Bertrand et al., 2012).

Оптимальное количество осадков в данном терруаре зависит от многих факторов, в том числе от водоудерживающих свойств почвы. Почва, содержащая больше органических веществ, может удерживать больше воды. Это также зависит от влажности воздуха и облачности, а также от методов выращивания. Оптимальный годовой диапазон осадков для кофе арабика составляет 1200–1800 мм (Alègre, 1959; DaMatta et al., 2007). Слишком большое количество осадков в течение года часто является причиной длительного и растянутого урожая в течение нескольких месяцев и низких урожаев (DaMatta et al., 2007). Кофейные деревья демонстрируют более предсказуемое цветение и плодоношение, когда они переживают отчетливый сухой сезон. Это типично для регионов внешнего тропического пояса, таких как Бразилия и Гватемала.

Периоды роста растений обычно совпадают с распределением осадков. В своем исследовании, проведенном в Висозе, на юго-востоке Бразилии (20 ° 46 'ю.ш., на высоте 650 м), Да Матта и др. (2007) измерили рост побегов за несколько месяцев. Наиболее интенсивный рост наблюдался с приходом и окончанием теплого сезона дождей. Исследователи заметили, что рост побегов кофейного дерева арабика медленный в сухой прохладный сезон и быстрый в дождливое теплое время года.

На диаграмме ниже показано распределение роста ветвей и увеличение размера листа или количества листьев (увеличение площади листа).

 

What about flowering? In general, rates of floral initiation are fastest and rates of shoot growth are slowest during the dry and/or cool ‘winter’ months, and ‘spring’ rains trigger blossoming and rapid shoot growth (M.G.R.

Вернуться к: Терруар > Agronomy

You have Successfully Subscribed!

loader image

T 2.05 Weather

Please sign up for the course before starting the lesson.

Rainfall

The highest rainfall experienced across the tropics roughly corresponds to the time when the sun is positioned directly overhead in that region. For example, the Tropic of Cancer receives its heaviest rains at around the time of the summer solstice in the Northern Hemisphere (June 21). The annual amount of rainfall in most growing regions is in the 1500–2000-millimetre range (Bertrand et al., 2012).

The optimum rainfall in a given terroir depends on many factors, including the retention properties of the soil. (Soil containing more organic matter can hold more water.) It also depends on the atmospheric humidity and cloud cover, as well as cultivation practices. The optimum annual rainfall range for Arabica coffee is 1200–1800 mm (Alègre, 1959 & DaMatta et al., 2007). Too much rainfall throughout the year is often responsible for a long and drawn out harvest over several months and low yields (Damatta et al., 2007). Coffee plants exhibit more predictable flowering and fruiting behaviour when there is a distinct dry season. This is typical of regions in the outer tropical belt, such as Brazil and Guatemala.

Growth periods for plants tend to be in sync with the rainfall distribution. In their study in Viçosa, in southeastern Brazil (20º46′ S, 650-m altitude), Da Matta et al., 2007 measured shoot growth across several months. ‘The most vigorous growth closely followed the arrival and departure of the warm, rainy season. Researchers observed that ‘shoot growth of the arabica coffee tree is slow during the dry, cool season, and rapid in the rainy, warm season’.

The chart below plots the distribution of the growth of branches and the increase in leaf size or the number of leaves (leaf area gain).

 

What about flowering? In general, rates of floral initiation are fastest and rates of shoot growth are slowest during the dry and/or cool ‘winter’ months, and ‘spring’ rains trigger blossoming and rapid shoot growth (M.G.R.

Back to: Terroir > Agronomy

You have Successfully Subscribed!